Tel: 0151 526 7509 | Email:

Robert Davies Jnr Wins back WBA title with punch perfect display

4th April 2018

Robbie Davies Jr. gained redemption and got back to winning ways with a knockout.

The super-lightweight stopped Michal Syrowatka in their rematch at the BT Convention Centre Auditorium in Liverpool.

Davies Jr. was knocked out by the Pole last July in the final of 12 rounds at the SSE Arena in Wembley, London.

He surrendered the WBA Continental title in the process, on the undercard of Chris Eubank Jr’s victory over Arthur Abraham.

He produced a somewhat punch-perfect performance on Saturday against the visiting champion, who strangely walked first before being made to wait, knocking him down three times before an end was called in the last round by referee Michael Alexander.

Neil Marsh, Davies Jr’s manager, secured home advantage for a shot at the title that he revealed to the ECHO could well have taken place at no cost to him and on another show abroad.

But a gamble was taken by the whole team to get the fight in Liverpool and Davies Jr. promised to deliver for the faith that has been shown in him.

Robbie Davies Jr: I'll repay faith shown in me

And deliver he did, winning back the belt in the process in front of a crowd of around 1000.

Davies Jr. boxed to orders early on, spinning away from any attacks the Pole looked to launch and having the majority of his success from the southpaw stance.

There were thoughts at ringside that the strength of Syrowatka early on would be an issue for Davies Jr., but just as it was thought, a right hand was landed and the champion was on the canvas.

To his credit, he made it back to his feet and saw the round out, but a check-right hook from the southpaw stance in the fourth round saw him go down again.

Syrowatka tried his best to make an impression on Davies Jr., who was focused solely on getting the job done, but it wasn’t to be.

And just when it was thought Davies Jr. would cruise through the final round to a comfortable points decision, he landed a right hand to deck Syrowatka a third time.

He made the mandatory eight-count but the referee deemed him to be in no position to continue and waved it off after one minute and 30 seconds of the final round.

Enewsletter image


If you want to stay in touch with what we're up to, you can sign-up to the mailing list for our quarterly Enewsletters.

Sign-up Now